Wednesday, April 6, 2011


Hello again!
       Okay so my last post was mainly just about fundraising, so I figure I should probably include more information about myself.  My name is Anne Hallett, but I prefer to be called Annie.  I am 16 years old and I live in Tucson, Arizona.  I love to read, write, and do photography.  I also really love to travel when I get a chance.  I have three siblings, and I am the oldest.  One of the reasons I became interested in foreign exchange is that a few years ago I got a chance to visit Europe for a little while during summer vacation.  We visited England, France, and Italy for a few days each, and during that time I really fell in love with Italy.  Just today I got an email saying that I was accepted by AFS Italy, and I'm so happy!  Even before that though I had wanted to do foreign exchange, but at that time I really didn't know where I wanted to go.  My short trip to Europe just managed to finalize my decision.  Thanks for reading!

Starting Out

       My name is Annie, and in around 6 months I am leaving for my foreign exchange year in Italy.  Foreign exchange is something I've wanted to do for a very long time, and I can't wait to get started.  I'm really looking forward to learning more about the Italian culture and becoming a part of an Italian family, as well as learning the language.  I hope that doing this will help me learn more about the world and give me a new perspective.
       However my trip is very expensive so I need some help fundraising.  At the top right of this page is something called chipin and its an easy (and safe) way to help sponsor my trip.  Every little bit counts and during this month (April) AFS is doubling all donations.  This would help so much, so if you have a little spare change please consider contributing.  Also this will be my blog for the duration of my Italy trip so keep checking back for more updates, especially while I'm oversees!

Thank you all so much!